Devil’s Food Cake with chocolate cream cheese frosting

I was going to post this recipe for my Sunday night dessert but I was so busy yesterday I total forgot forgive me. Anyway, this recipe came to me one day when my sister ask me if I could
try and dupe the Entenmann’s fudge cake for a party. So I  did try and recreate it for her but, I didn’t have
the ingredients because I forgot them at my house. { I was having a serious bay day }
So, I took what she had and created this light texture Devil’s food cake With Chocolate cream cheese frosting that’s so creamy and rich.   Everyone loved it .I hope you try it . Check it out .

Devil food cake

  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup baking cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1-1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract



pan size: 9 x 13 pan
In a bowl, beat butter and sugar until crumbly, for about 2-3 mins. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each egg. Next mix in flour, cocoa, baking soda, vanilla and salt. Add to creamed mixture alternately with butter. Then add water and mix well. Pour batter in lightly sprayed pan.
Bake for 25-30 mins or until toothpick comes out clean.



Chocolate cream cheese frosting

1/4 cup of butter
8 ounces of cream cheese softened
3 squares of unsweetened chocolate melted
dash of salt
3 cups of powdered sugar
1/3 cup of half-and-half
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract


Cream together the butter and cream cheese, add melted chocolate, salt, shifted powdered sugar, half-and- half and vanilla. Beat until smooth and spreadable.

{Opt.For the next step I melted 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips and made a zig zag effect on top of cream cheese frosting.}

Leave a Reply

