Double dark chocolate cherry coke cookies

Cookie Friday: Double dark chocolate cherry coke cookies

My dad used to work for coke, so this recipe is a flashback to my childhood memories. My sister and I would drink so much soda we would be on a serious sugar high. {we were all over the place} Of course, we tried to it hide it  from my parents, but we didn’t do a good job of it. We didn’t hide the cans or the candy wrappers which we ate with the soda .

 My dad would come up with the weirdest combos for ice cream sodas: tab soda + pistachoio ice cream. {Yes, tab soda}Grape soda + chocolate  ice cream. My mom would yell at him for coming up with crazy recipes, and leaving the kitchen a mess.  Some of his crazy creations came out pretty good .

I would give any thing in the world right now to have him and my mom here yelling and screaming  about anything. So, as I dig in my my closet and pull out some old memories, and old recipes from  mom, the best mother Ever, grandmas and my crazy dad combos. I Will share them with you.

{ I also have a bundt cake and a cupcake recipe very similar to this .I can’t wait to post it.}


Prep Time: 50 mins
Preheat oven. 325
Bake Time: 9-14 mins
Makes about 20 cookies

Ingredients

    1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 1/4 cups
     unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed dark-brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 12 ounces dark chocolate chopped

    1 cup of dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried bing cherries

    1 cup of cherry coke soda


    1. 1.Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt; set aside
      2.Melt the butter and 1/2 cup of roughly chopped dark chocolate in a double broiler and stir until smooth; allow it to cool slightly and set aside.
      3.In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars until fluffy. Add eggs, cherry coke and  vanilla extract; beat until well combined. Add the flour mixture, and beat on low speed, until just combined. Do not over beat. Gently fold in the chocolate chunks and chopped dried cherries until combined evenly. 
      4.Chill batter for 35 mins. It will spread better if you chill your batter. {I always chill my cookie batter.}
      5.Use a spoon or small ice cream scoop to form dough into approx. 1″ sized balls; place 2″ apart. Bake for 9-14 mins do not over bake. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  This is the hard part,  Allow them to cool for a few minutes before eating.


      Adapted from :.martha stewart.
One thought on “Double dark chocolate cherry coke cookies

  1. Pingback: Cookie Friday:My top popular Cookies,cookie bars, and cookie sandwiches posts | Cup of Tea

Leave a Reply

